Microsoft Word – how can I edit my AutoText entries

If you have set up an AutoText entry and then your details change, you need to know how to edit the entry.

To edit an AutoText entry in Word 2007 or Word 2010:

  1. Insert the Autotext entry into your document.
  2. Edit it within the document.
  3. Select the whole entry and then on the Insert tab, in the Text group, click the Quick Parts dropdown and click Save Selection to Quick Part Gallery. The Create New Building Block dialog box will be displayed.

  4. In the Name box, type in the original name of the AutoText entry, then click OK.
  5. You will be asked whether you want to redefine the building block. Click Yes. Your AutoText entry will then be updated.

More information about our Microsoft Word training Sydney, Australia.

More information about our Microsoft Word training London, England or our Microsoft Word training Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire, England.

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 (or 150 Aussie dollars)for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Microsoft Word, Microsoft Word 2007, Microsoft Word 2010 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

