Microsoft Access – Parameter Query on months of year

How can I create a parameter query that lets me just specify a month period, i.e. July?

If you have a date in a query and you just want to return items within a certain month set up as a parameter query, there is more than one way to do it, but probably the easiest from the point of view of the person running the query is first to create a new field giving the monthname.

E.g. MonthIn: MonthName(Month([DateIn]))

Then in the criteria row under your new field, type something like [What month?]. This will allow people to type in the month required, e.g. July to return the required data.

Find out more about our Microsoft Access training courses Sydney, Australia.

Find out more about our Microsoft Access training courses London, UK,  or our Microsoft Access training courses Hampshire, Wiltshire and Dorset areas.

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 (or 150 Aussie dollars)for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Microsoft Access, Microsoft Access 2003, Microsoft Access 2007, Microsoft Access 2010 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

