Microsoft Project – show status date

The Status date is the date at which you have the most up-to-date information for tracking on a project plan. By default it is the current date but may be an earlier date if you have received updates from the team but haven’t had chance to update the project plan.

If the status date is not the current date, it can be changed by clicking on the Project tab, then in the Status group, click Status Date, type in the required date and click OK.

To have the Status Date showing on the Gantt Chart, right-click over the Gantt Chart area, then select Gridlines. The Gridlines dialog box will be displayed.

From the Line to change list, select Status Date.

From the Type dropdown, select the line type you want to see on your Gantt Chart for your Status Date.

From the Color dropdown, select the line colour for the Status Date.

Click OK. The line will be displayed on your Gantt Chart.

Find out more about our Microsoft Project training courses Sydney, Australia.

Find out more about our Microsoft Project training courses London, Surrey, Middlesex, UK, or our Microsoft Project training courses Hampshire, Wiltshire, Dorset.

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 (or 150 Aussie dollars)for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Microsoft Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Microsoft Project – show status date

  1. Eduard Hernandez Balada says:

    This is very informative, but I still have a question. I set the status date as of i.e. 30th June, and have filled out information already until 15th July (current date). Yet, I want to see status report for as 30th of June, however I obtain only the reports with the information until the current date. How can I retrieve this information?

    • jdonbavand says:

      Hi Eduard
      Have you saved with a baseline? Which version of Project are you using?
      Janet

      • Eduard Hernandez Balada says:

        Hello,

        Indeed, I have saved the baseline and then updated the actual work, start dates, durations, etc. and retrieved the variances. What I have noticed is that I can’t travel back in time and retrieve the information from any status date I want to – I have found in other forums that this is indeed not possible to do, and that only works for Earned Value. Do you agree?

        PS. I am using MS Project 2010

        Eduard

  2. jdonbavand says:

    The only thing I can think of is to create new baselines from the different status dates or to create custom fields.

Leave a Reply

