Ghost verbs

ifonlyidknownthat

Ghost verbs are vague, distracting and cut the life from living verbs.

“Discussion” is a ghostly form of the verb “discuss”.

So, if I said: “We will hold a discussion on it soon”, you’d have to do some thinking.

Why? Because “hold” means nothing, so you flip to “discussion” and change it to the living verb “discuss” for sentence meaning. What a waste of time!

“We will discuss it soon” is what I should have said.

That is the most efficient way: fewer words and quicker meaning.

Our business writing expert, Ron Denholm, examines 20 ghost verbs here:

http://www.slideshare.net/RonaldDenholm/ghost-verbs

Learn more about our Business Writing training courses Sydney, Australia.

Learn more about our Business Writing training courses London, UK.

View original post

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 (or 150 Aussie dollars)for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

