Microsoft Outlook – adding contacts to AutoComplete

Generally when you are using Microsoft Outlook, recently used contacts come up under the AutoComplete list when you are using the To box to address a new email. At one client site recently this wasn’t happening for a few contacts – and ones they did use on a regular basis.

The solution involved going offline as you have to seem to send an email to the added contacts – click the Send/Receive tab, then in the Preferences group, click Work Offline. Now go to the relevant Contacts folder and select the required contacts by holding down the Ctrl key and clicking.

Then on the Home tab, in the Communicate group, click Email. The relevant email addresses will now show in the To box. Click Send.

Because you are offline, the message will now be in the Outbox. Go to that and delete the message. Then go back online, by going back to the Send/Receive tab and in the Preferences group, clicking Work Offline again.

Next time you try to send an email, the required contacts should be in the AutoComplete list.

Find out more about our Microsoft Outlook training in the London area or our Microsoft Outlook training in Wiltshire, Dorset, Somerset and Hampshire.

 

 

Advertisements

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Outlook 2010, Microsoft Outlook 2013, Microsoft Outlook 2016 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s