Microsoft Excel – Telephone numbers

A lady who I was training had a column of telephone numbers, some of which had the 0 in front of them, while some didn’t. She wanted all the numbers to be correct with a 0 at the front. First of all we formatted the column as text.

Assuming the first phone number was in cell B2, the relevant formula, probably in cell C2, is

=IF(LEFT(B2,1)<>”0″, “0”&B2,B2)

Use the Autofill handle to copy this down for the rest of the phone numbers.

Then select the now correct numbers, copy them, click back in cell B2 and paste values. You now have a nicely formatted column of phone numbers and can delete the figures in the column where you wrote your IF statement.

Find out more about our Excel training London, UK,  or our Excel training in Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire .

Find out more about our Excel training Sydney, Australia.

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Excel 2003, Microsoft Excel 2007, Microsoft Excel 2010, Microsoft Excel 2013, Microsoft Excel 2016 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Microsoft Excel – Telephone numbers

Leave a comment