Communication Skills – Reading Body Language

How do you know whether someone you are talking to face-to-face is feeling uncomfortable? They may feel you are intruding on them, or you may be making them nervous.

Tell-tale signs are:

  • Tapping
  • Rocking
  • Leg swinging
  • Intermittent closing of the eyes
  • Hunching of the shoulders
  • Tucking of the chin into the chest

If you realise this and notice the signs, you can learn to adjust your approach and make people more relaxed and open with you. Sometimes it means you need to step back a pace or two to give the person more personal space. Sometimes it means stopping talking and listening to the other person instead!

Find information about our Effective Communication Skills training courses Sydney, Australia or about our Effective Communication Skills training courses London, UK.

About jdonbavand

I am a trainer of Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and Crystal Reports. I have called my blog "If Only I'd Known That...." because I hear it so many times in training sessions. In fact, if only I had a £100 for every time someone says "If only I'd known that." ....
This entry was posted in Coaching skills, Communication Skills, Negotiating and Influencing Skills and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment